A Different Nature playlist for 04/27/2009

Program name: 
A Different Nature
Air date: 
THE LEAGUE OF AUTOMATIC MUSIC COMPOSERS--The League of Automatic Music Composers 1978-1983--New World Records
8:01--Tim Perkis, John Bischoff, Jim Horton--Pedal with Twitter--
8:12--Oakland One--
8:17--Martian Folk Music--
8:25--Oakland Four--
THE HUB--Boundary Layer (3cd set)--Tzadik
8:29--John Bischoff, Chris Brown, Tim Perkis, Mark Trayle, Phil Stone, Scot Gresham-Lancaster--Pushing--The Glass Hand--
8:35--Polling--Borrowing and Stealing--
8:43--Pushing--Stuck Note--
8:53--Boundary Layer--Boss--
9:01--Boundary Layer--Lou Drift--
9:13--Pushing--Wax Lips II, or Das Lied Von Der Nerd--
9:21--Polling--Simple Degredation--
9:28--Polling--The Minister of Pitch--
9:32--Boundary Layer--Pins and Splits--
9:40--Boundary Layer--Noosphere--
9:57--Pushing--Hertz Donut--

THE LEAGUE OF AUTOMATIC MUSIC COMPOSERS and THE HUB. The two bands not only shared two major members (John Bischoff and Tim Perkis) along with featuring many major West Coast composers (Chris Brown, David Behrman, Paul DeMarinis, Rich Gold, Scot Gresham-Lancaster, Phil Stone and Mark Trayle); they also strongly represent the West Coast tradition of composer as instrument builder, using the newly available microcomputers of the '70 (in the case of LAMC) plus electronic and digital systems of their own devising (in both) to create networks of interacting computers and circuits with an eye to eliciting surprising and new “musical artificial intelligences.” Some of the most imaginative and compelling electric music created since 1977 and the music of Musica Elettronica Viva. Rescheduled from earlier pre-emptions.


Copyright © 2012 KBOO Community Radio | Copyright Policy | Community Guidelines | Website Illustration & Design by: KMF ILLUSTRATION